Call for submissions: 2022 journalism awards

Nominations are now open for:

  • NSWCCL's Excellence in civil liberties journalism awards to honour journalists producing excellent work that promotes civil liberties and holds governments to account across two categories: open and young journalist.

  • The Kafka for services to authoritarianism in Australia. This could recognise the year's most cruel and inhuman government act of the year; the most authoritarian political leader of the year; or indeed the most unhelpful media commentary by a public figure.


Nominations are open to all. Please send to [email protected] before the Friday 8 July deadline.

For all awards

  • Please outline why you think your nominee deserves the award, with a brief description of the impact on Australian civil rights and any relevant background information

For the journalism awards

  • Please provide a link to, or copy of, the materials nominated

  • For the young journalists category, please provide the birth date of the journalist

Eligibility criteria for the journalism awards:

  • Open to an article or series of articles, or a radio, television or podcast presentation, promoting civil liberties

  • Nominations must have been published or broadcast in Australia, or created by an Australian journalist and published anywhere, between 1 July 2021 and 30 June 2022, and must be received by the NSWCCL by 11.59pm on Friday 8 July 

  • For the young journalists category, the journalist must turn 30 after 30 June 2022

In evaluating nominations for this year’s journalism awards, our judges will consider:

  • The origins and development of the story
    (was it an exclusive, did it bring to light new information or a new viewpoint?)

  • The resources available in developing the story

  • Research and creativity applied in developing the story

  • Accuracy, balance and an ethical approach

  • The quality of writing, verbal communication and/or technical and production skill

  • Public impact or benefit of the story

More information: see our awards page for previous winners and further background.