The  Committee manages the business of CCL. It consists of 20 members (including the Executive) and is elected annually. The Committee meets on the 4th Wednesday of every month in the Council Chambers of the Sydney Town Hall.  CCL members are welcome to attend. 

Martin BibbyMartin Bibby

Martin has been a member of the Committee since 2004. He was Assistant Secretary for a number of years and  convener of civil rights subcommittee 2007-2013.  Martin writes a large number of CCL’s submissions in relation to civil liberties and human rights issues. 

Formerly President of: Philosophy of Education Society of Australasia, NSW Institute for Educational Research, Schoolwatch Committee;  Chair of the Board of Educational Philosophy and Theory and the ethics committee of the Australian Association for Research in Education; secretary of the Federation of Australian Postgraduate Associations

Hans_Heilpern180x220.jpg Hans Heilpern

Hans Heilpern is currently a legal member of the Mental Health Review Tribunal. As an academic he developed and taught in the first NSW tertiary courses for police and prison officers.

During the Wran Labor Government he was chief of staff to the Attorney General and later the Director General of the Department of Community Services.

Hans has been a member of a number of Commonwealth and State tribunals and was a member of the NSW Parole Board.

He was a special consultant to Commonwealth Minister for Aboriginal Affairs and the Commonwealth Minister for Health in connection with HIV/AIDS in prison.  He was a Commissioner on the Inquiry into Abuse of Children in Queensland.



Mansour2.jpg Ramzy Mansour

Ramzy Mansour joined the CCL Committee in October 2014. He was a member of Police Power and civil liberties subcommittee in 2013.

Born in Port Said Egypt, Ramzy graduated from the Faculty of Commerce, Ain Shams University, Cairo, before migrating to Australia in 1988.

Ramzy has always held concerns about human rights, particularly the protections around the fairness of trial, the right of the convicted to have their sentence reviewed by higher courts, the death penalty and the lack of transparency surrounding the identity of those who have been executed.

Ramzy joined CCL to actively to advocate for Civil Liberties. He is a strong supporter of the Rights of Freedom of Opinion and Expression of all persons in accordance with the fundamental principles as set in article (19) of International Convention on Civil and Political Rights. Ramzy was a campaigner for Arm Trade Treaty (ATT) in 2012 & 2013, and is currently campaigning to stop torture, and to advocate for a Human Rights Bill for NSW


Lydia ShelleyLydia Shelly

Lydia is admitted as a solicitor with the Supreme Court of New South Wales and the High Court of Australia. She is a practicing solicitor and joined the committee in 2014. She is concerned over the erosion of fundamental legal principles with the introduction of further counter-terrorism legislation, as well as the implications for social cohesion and human rights.

Lydia has presented evidence at several Parliamentary inquiries into proposed laws relating to criminal offences and counter terrorism, including the Counter-Terrorism Legislation Amendment Bill (No. 1) 2014 and the Counter-Terrorism Legislation Amendment (Foreign Fighters) Bill. 

She is also concerned over Australia’s treatment of asylum seekers and the politicisation of refugees, as well as Australia's engagement in military operations overseas.

She believes that a Bill of Rights for all Australians is long overdue and necessary to ensure civil liberties and human rights are protected.  


AngelaCatallo180x220.jpg Angela Catallo

Angela is a Welfare Officer with the NSW Teachers Federation and before that a High School English and ESL teacher in South-Western Sydney. In her present role she is involved in advising on the industrial rights of workers.

With a background teaching students from diverse social and cultural backgrounds she has an interest in immigration policy and the availability of social and legal rights to the less advantaged members of our society.


Schoefiled2.jpg Therese Cochrane

 Therese is a lawyer who has studied and worked in Australia and Europe. Her work in private practice and in-house has been in banking and finance. Therese has served previously as Secretary of the NSW Council for Civil Liberties between 2015 and 2018.

She has been interested in human rights and civil liberties since university and has participated in various organisations and campaigns over the years. Her focus is the treatment of asylum seekers (particularly children), maintenance of the rule of law and privacy.

She has undergraduate degrees in economics and law from the University of Sydney and a Masters Degree in law from the University of Cambridge. Therese is a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. 



mramage.jpg Malcolm Ramage QC

Malcolm is a barrister specializing in criminal law. He was appointed QC in 1990. Malcolm has been a NSWCCL member since about 1971 and has has held the role of President. Malcolm is the convenor of the Legal Panel. 

Anish Bhasin

Michelle Falstein

Simon Bruck